A new life in Belize

Closer to 50 than 40

Well the dreaded day rolled around when I became closer to 50 than 40!  If you know me well, birthdays are not my thing and I apologise to all my friends for ignoring their special days for so many years…  NOT   🙂    Life in Belize can get very hectic and I was in a quandary what to do on my birthday ….  Go paintballing, maybe the cinema, a nice meal at a fancy restaurant……  ..HANG ON!  we are in Belize …so i had an hour on H Cove, went to a little bar (a shack with a pool table) and had their fried chicken . Of all the places I’ve  traveled around the world this little place does the best CONSISTENT chicken I’ve ever had, half a chicken and a beer with fries and salad for a whopping £4.  We ordered 3 meals and pigged out then swung by to the aptly named  Chinese store   “RONGS”  for a bottle of rum …. cruised to the cake shop for a upside down pineapple cake and headed back to the rock lodge roof top lounge and played pool illuminated by the now famous “Meteorite ” pool table light. The Jungle listened to 80’s classics all night. As I went to bed I looked in to the mirror and didn’t see an old man looking back and I was happy with my lot 🙂    What do you get a bloke who has everything?  H knew exactly what i wanted ….   2 new back tire’s for the truck  🙂

If you are out there reading this thinking lucky sod ….  I say  …… make plans …… dare to be different …..follow your dreams!

45 chillaxing on H Cove

45 chillaxing on H Cove

We are just working through the finishing list with the builder, he calls it his “Punch list”  I think that’s what he does when he gets to the end …..Hope H is stood next to him 🙂    We have been in the house 2 months and couldn’t be any happier, I was skyping with my brother the other day he loves the house but said he thought it might be bigger.   Well after 2 marriages maybe size has always been an issue in his life!!  🙂     The builder came up with a good idea for lighting the spiral staircase so I bought some rope lighting and we attached it to the handrail and it looks great at night, I wonder what the creatures of the jungle think?

Stairway to heaven

Stairway to heaven

Now I know everyone thinks  I just lounge around with H on the beach all day, but alas it is not true ….everything grows so fast here the grounds need constant attention and I have just started landscaping around the house.  There was a  big pile of rock left over from the house build so we decided to gravel around the house and edge it with rock . It sounds so simple but try shoveling gravel in 90 degrees with humidity ….whilst your swinging in a hammock with your shirt off it’s wonderful ..as soon as you even think about work you break out in beads of sweat. We have had the first proper rain in 4 months… the days had been idyllic but with the first rain comes the lovely mosquito’s hungry for some sweet Blighty blood. So shorts, sandals and no shirt is out the window.  You have to cover up and wear layers or they  will ravage you till your last drop! the good thing is that they come and go in cycles and yesterday the dragon flies arrived to take care of them. I have a good 4 months of work on our acre plot but H keeps telling me it will be all worth it in the end (whilst swinging in MY hammock)…..  🙂

Today it was a hard life 🙂

3 responses

  1. The Boss

    I guess if H renames the wheel barrow “The Canteen” you’d never leave that spot…..

    May 28, 2012 at 8:07 pm

    • We both know how many times Catastrophe was averted with a little CANTEEN chat … you can climb to great heights !!!!! BUT your only as good as the people around you 🙂 … I know thank God I’ve gone :p

      May 31, 2012 at 10:11 pm

      • The Boss

        Never a truer word spoken.

        Dog house looks good too!

        June 4, 2012 at 7:33 pm

Leave a Reply

