A new life in Belize

The need for speed

Before we left the UK I took my Dad to the formula at Silverstone as I could only get two last-minute tickets. So as part as the big trip we booked two more tickets for this years race for H to experience. We got two great seats on farm curve at the top of the grandstand and the weather was sunny throughout the race and rained the last ten minutes which added to the excitement of an unscheduled tyre change resulting in a win for the golden boy Lewis Hamilton.

Life in the fast lane ..H took her ear plugs ..said it was for the race car noise ..of course it was :)

Life in the fast lane ..H took her ear plugs ..said it was for the race car noise ..of course it was 🙂

We next headed out to Ibiza hijacking the Sibbo’s romantic weekend away without the kids. Before we left the UK Mr Sibbo made me go halves on a bottle of Don Perignon  ( D.P ) , which to me ( uncultured ) tasted like Prosecco and knowing him, if I hadn’t seen the bottle I would have bet my house it was. We were arriving before them on a different flight and in duty free I saw a vintage reserve D.P and bought it as a surprise. We then hatched a cunning plan to fool him. We purchased a cheap Prosecco that had a rip off label that looked like D.P  and had it chilled down and put it inside the D.P presentation box. When he arrived I gave him the box ,he was very excited ,opened it then his face saddened when he realised it was just cheap Sh*t that we ( us and you the reader ) enjoy. I said come on then lets open it and he begrudgingly started to unwrap the cheap foil top. I whisked out the real chilled bottle and hid it behind my back , proclaiming you don’t think I’m that cheap do you . You should have seen the grin that emerged oh his face. This was just the start of a great weekend of drinking and partying ,culminating in a night at the world famous PACHA night club. It was without a shadow of a doubt the single best clubbing night of my life. Idris elba was spinning the tunes and Bob Sinclair finished of the set  as the sun rose. The next night we went to San Antonio and bagged some free seats at sunset whilst Pete Tong did his thing.. we must have drunk the place dry and the night ended with the immortal words …. Harvey Nichols  ( Private Joke)

We arrived at Midnight as it opened before it got rammed and had the pick of the best FREE seats in the house ..WHAT A NIGHT

We arrived at Midnight as it opened before it got rammed and had the pick of the best FREE seats in the house ..WHAT A NIGHT

We left Ibiza and flew to Bibao then caught the bus across the border to Biarritz where we picked up a car and stayed the night. We then left early morning at 5am to be greeted by the youth of spain still partying as it was Bastille Day ..getting in and out of Biarritz is a complete nightmare sat nav is a must. We then had the most magical drive on the back roads of France over the Pyrenees  and headed to the first mountain top finish of the Tour De France this year. La Pierre San Marten is a ski resort perched at the top of the mother of a mountain. We had to park 4 miles from the top and walk up . I remarked if they can ride up it we can walk up it …. I was nearly wrong, it was one hell of a slog but we made it :). Then the 8 hour wait began for the riders to arrive. We picked a spot 100m from the finish perched on some rocks that gave a fantastic view across the whole of the mountains it was quite breath taking. I bought the obligatory tour de france yellow jersey and prepared for the carvan to arrive. We were directly opposite a huge tv screen where we could see the race unfold. A family of Canadians camped at our feet and I predicted a Froome win by 45 seconds dropping Quintana on the climb . I called it correct with Froome winning by 54 seconds …the goose bumps I got as he appeared around the corner was amazing ..i’d fulfilled a 30 year dream of seeing a mountain top finish ..it didn’t disappoint and could never be topped. The day after we saw another stage as they flew past us on the road and then went to Pau to see the magnificent Chateau . The next day we headed to Toulouse to drop the car off and fly back . On the way we called in on some friends we’d met at the Dry Tortugas 8 years ago and it was as if it had only been last year . We sipped Champagne and reminisced it was a lovely afternoon at their gorgeous 16th century farm house.

The photo below is the ONLY photo of this stage which was taken my me ,as the Canadian guy with the fancy camera  took so many pictures of the advertising caravan parade, his battery died … Let this be a lesson to all the budding Photographers out there!!!

An English win at a mountain top finish in the Pyrenees ..The things that dreams are made of

An English win at a mountain top finish in the Pyrenees ..The things that dreams are made of

H’s and my Dad share their birthdays one after the other so we decided to do something they’d never forget ..we took them to the Spearmint Rhino club ( well I would have done)  but we opted for second best and hired a private trip on a narrow boat along the Chesterfield canal and treated them to Lunch. It was really nice to be away from the hustle and bustle and everyone thoroughly enjoyed it.

I was going to ask the guy piloting the boat to take a picture of us , BUT H suggested I take the photo as not to spoil the shot or risk breaking the camera :)

I was going to ask the guy piloting the boat to take a picture of us , BUT H suggested I take the photo as not to spoil the shot or risk breaking the camera 🙂

Comments are closed.